Thursday, March 4, 2010

The Knitting O(para)lympics

So - I was going to do the Knitting Olympics. Really was. Picked out a pattern, yarn, needles - and used things I already had on hand, so I wasn't even spending money. (That took effort - I almost gave in and bought yarn for a new project. But I managed to talk myself out of it.) Did a swatch before the Opening Ceremony. Cast on and started the project during the Opening Ceremony. Knitted away the next morning while I watched the games. Ripped it out and cast on with fewer stitches later that night, while I watched the games. Knitted away and watched the games pretty much all that week and the next. Knitted almost all day the last day, right up until the flame went out.

Didn't finish.
















Totally not my fault.

See, I was handicapped. I had another project that had to take first place.

The Birthday present.

This? This is a knitted Dalek. I made it for my brother's 11th birthday (He thinks it's pretty cool, so kudos to the pattern designer). See that 2nd line of Bobbles from the bottom? That's how far I was when the Olympics started. That might seem far, but that was barely a quarter of the way through. (The base wasn't there yet - I knit that last, after stuffing.)

Also, each of those rows of bobbles took me a good 2o minutes. For one row.

I hate bobbles now.

So, needless to say, the birthday present had to be done. No question. So a lot of that Olympic Knitting time was spent on the Dalek. But I didn't finish the Dalek until only a few days before the Closing Ceremony. (alright, it might have been 6 days. Maybe.) So now, I only had a few days to finish my socks. I hadn't even finished the leg on the first one.

Yep, wasn't going to happen. Knew it. Didn't stress about it.

Instead, I'm a Paralympian now. I'm giving myself until the Flame goes out at the Paralympics to get these socks done. That means I have until the 21st. I can handle that.

And yes, I will be working on these socks in between. Honestly, that's not cheating - these socks are a tough project for me. Lots of chart reading and cabling. I'm lucky I haven't dropped stitches more than a couple times so far. And I totally used a life-line on the heel. First time I'd done a heel flap and gusset, too.

So, I don't mind too much that I didn't finish. I am totally in awe of those who did, however. Especially the Yarn Harlot - holy crap did you see what she did?! Total. Awe.

I didn't do that. Can't imagine doing it in a million years. But right now, I'm saying - yes, my project isn't even half done. No, I didn't give the Knitting Olympics my all. But I have a chance to try again, and even though I was handicapped, I can still be a champion.

Isn't that part of the reason we have the Paralympics?

Gold Medal, here I come.

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Stash

So I've been reading Yarn Harlot: the secret life of a knitter lately. It's an awesome book, and I'm laughing at almost every page, so that's good.

I'm reading the section on stash right now, and it made me think. How much stash do I have? and what kind of stash is it? I know that I don't really have a lot of stash - I haven't had a lot of spare cash to spend frivolously on yarn that I don't have an immediate project for. (Ok, so that doesn't always cover sale yarn - but it's on sale!) Considering how much space I have, though, I do kinda have a lot.

My yarn bin I bought year ago has been full for, well, years, although yarn has come and gone from it's shelter. Right now, I have yarn stashed in and around that bin (which is crammed unhappily in my closet. And yarn in my bag of current projects - most of which I do actually intend to work on soon. And there's yarn stashed in about half of my new dresser. One of those drawers is rather packed.

At one point, in the midst of Christmas knitting, I temporarily shoved yarn (carefully, mind you), in my underwear drawer, to get it out of my hair while I dealt with all those Christmas presents I had to make.

And I do try to use my stash - I've been pretty focused on looking for projects that I can make and use up some of my stash - because if I don't get that yarn out of my stash, it's hard to justify buying more.

Still, I have over 30 types of yarn in my stash (Ravelry say 28, but I haven't actually added all of my stash into there, yet). Out of those, only 12 yarns have plans. That's right, 12, out of 35 or so.

Now, I know, compared to other knitters, this is still really small beans. Especially since, for most of these yarns, I have a skein or 2 at most. But on the other hand, even with my making an effort to find projects for all of these yarns, less than half of them do. And hardly any of those are actually on the needles, or going to be anytime soon.

And, on top of that, there're slightly more yarns that I have no idea what I'm ever going to do with them. I bought that rather scratchy pumpkin orange acrylic to make a hunting hat for my brother-in-law (which I finally did, this Christmas), but I bought extra, thinking I might as well make hunting hats for my uncle and his 2 kids while I was at it. I don't think I'm going to bother with that, so what on earth am I going to do with more than 637 yards of pumpkin orange yarn? My brother-in-law said I could make him fingerless gloves or something, but that's still going to leave me with an awful lot of yarn. Sure, I could make knitted pumpkins, but that seems pretty silly. And I have 2 skeins of eyelash yarn, in different colors, that I thought were going to make pretty skinny scarves for 2 of my cousins. Only you need more than 1 skein of this yarn to do a scarf, and now I'm not sure they'd like scarves like that, anyway. So that's going to sit there for ages, most likely.

Logically, I know that this could develop into a big problem, if I don't try to stay on top of myself and curb things now. But I don't think that's going to happen, unless I stop knitting. Because I know I'm not going to stop buying yarn, and even yarn bought with the best of intentions sometimes ends up as stash instead of a completed project. And so far I haven't bought much yarn just because I had to have it, but the more I get to real yarn shops, and fairs and things, the less that's going to be true.

And can you imagine when I decide to learn how to spin, and start buying fiber? Or undyed yarn so I can dye my own? I know that'll probably happen sometime - I'm already intrigued by the idea of learning how to spin, although I've been able to fight the urge so far.

Honestly, though, I don't really want to do anything about my stash. Sure, there're a few yarns I want to get out of there, because I don't know what to do with them and they're taking up space, but I like digging through my yarn, rediscovering things I'd forgotten I had, and just feeling up all that lovely yarn. And that feeling is only going to improve over time, as I add more yarn, especially real yarn, not fake acrylic stuff.

Really, I just need to buy a bigger bin to keep it all in, that's all.

Thursday, December 31, 2009

Knitting goals!

So, Okay, I just wrote what turned out to be a rather depressing post on which of my 2009 goals I ended up accomplishing. So now I'm going to do something more fun - Knitting Goals Accomplished! Yay!

1. Bryan's Birthday present
Yeah, that's been done for ages. I know I already mentioned that.

2. finish the scarf, purse, and poncho WIPs
Okay, scrapped the scarf (just used some of the yarn for something else), finished the purse - and the poncho! yay!

3. Hat for my sis
Heh. I'll get around to that eventually...

4. fingerless mitts for myself and a friend
Finished those! Actually, have another pair in the works to give away, and want to make myself another pair.

5. Hooded scarf for mom
Done and gifted - she loves it. Just about finished with a pair of mittens to match

6. house-slippers for my sis
Not yet. Need to rethink this one.

7. afghan for myself
Okay, it's about 1/3 of the way done, has been for ages - all sorts of Christmas knitting got in the way. Hope to get back to it soon.

8. 25 assorted stocking stuffers
Well, I finished off the 7 of those I eventually decided to make. Didn't do the whole family this year.

9. first pair of socks!
Yes! Actually, those need a bit of darning right now, so they're back in my knitting bag. Also, planning on making more!

10. learn fair isle
Well, sort of. I did a swatch which didn't work too well. But I've already started the stocking I needed to learn this for, so we'll see...

So, all in all, I managed most of those. I also learned how to knit lace, and how to do double knitting, and started designing my own project, which I plan to publish on Ravelry when I've finished. And I made several other projects that I wasn't even planning on doing when I made that list originally. Honestly, my knitting goals change pretty quickly, nowadays.

Right now, for example, I have 4 projects that are 'officially' WIPs, and 3 more that are hibernating, which I'm looking forward to getting back to. Also, I have plans to start, for myself, a new pair of socks, a new pair of fingerless gloves, a couple different hats, and at least 2 different sweaters. I also have plans for my brother's B-day present.

Of course, on top of that, I just got several new knitting books for Christmas. One of which I totally wasn't expecting, but which has lots of...unusual patterns in it. So now I'm going through those, and finding yet more projects I'm really interested in making. You know, just in case I'm bored.

I'm starting to think I'm a knitting addict.

I don't think I have a problem with that.

What Happened to those goals?

So, it occurred to me that, at the beginning of this year, I actually did write out a list of 'resolutions' - something I hardly ever do. Since this is the last day of 2009, I figured I should probably go back and see how many of those I accomplished. So here goes.

I want to be in better shape than I have ever been before (whatever that might be, for me).

Totally didn't happen. I did manage to avoid gaining weight, but that's about it. And I've hardly exercised at all. Still planning to work on that.

I want to be working in a job where I plan to stay for a few years, that I enjoy.

Yeah....no. I'm working a crap job that I basically hate, although I get along pretty well with most of my coworkers, and am friends with a couple of them. On the plus side, though, I do have a job lined up to start in February, which I'm really looking forward to - just under a month left of the crap job! yay!

I want to have a place of my own, and start living like an actual adult, instead of a student.

Again, no go. I am looking for a place right now, and I do have a few more of the things I need to set myself up (thanks for those dishes! and the crockpot!). So...progress, at least.

I want to be living in a community I enjoy, and have started sowing seeds for the rest of my life.

Umm....not so much. Still living with my parents, obviously. The sowing seeds thing, though - that's going on all the time, really. Just not the way I thought it was going to.

I want to try to play my cello again, no matter how much it hurts.

Well, I did pull him out and try to get him in tune, but I need to bring my cello in and have him looked over - I think I need to replace the strings, for example. Been planning to do that for months now.

I want to have finished at least one large knitting project, and be ready to start knitting a Christmas stocking for my nephew.

Some success! I haven't actually finished a large project, but I have a couple started, and I have started on the stocking for my nephew! Also, I know what I'm doing for stocking stuffers next year, and it's not going to take nearly as long as this year's projects. So I should have time to knit more for me! (I'm being kinda selfish, I suppose, but I have a whole slew of sweaters and things I want to make for myself.)

I want to have met my friend Jacob, finally.

Nope, didn't happen. Not sure it's going to, either. Really, this is one that I need to think through...

I want to have set some money aside, and start making serious inroads on paying off my student loans.

Well, I have been making payments on my student loans, but I'm living paycheck to paycheck right now - and occasionally asking my dad for a bit of help. So, again, no go on this one. Fortunately I have a better-paying job lined up, so hopefully soon...

I want to be working on several projects that challenge me at my job.

Well, this would require having a challenging job. Which I don't. Will soon, though.

I want to have a plan for the future.

Okay, I'm counting this one as accomplished. I have some ideas for what I want to do with my life, and where I want to go. And that's good enough for me. I don't really want to have any set in stone plans, because then I'll be frustrated if they don't come through.

I want to have written a story, even though I don't think I'll let anyone read it.

Okay... I have written parts of a couple stories, but nothing finished. And they are so not going to be read by anyone, ever.

I want to do something unexpected.

Um. Not sure. I'm thinking probably not. At least nothing big.

I want to be kissed.

Okay, no. And we're leaving it there.

I want to be happy.

Well, yeah. In general, anyway. I'm still dissatisfied with lots of things, but I am relatively happy, anyway.

And I want to be loved.

Wish I hadn't put this on here. Duh.


Okay, so, out of 15 goals, I only accomplished 3 (2 of which were basically given). I partially managed another 4 (depending on how you look at it - my list, my count). Leaving me with 8 I didn't manage. Really, those are pretty sucky numbers.

On the other hand, though - 5 of those 8 were based on, or tied to, having a decent job. Which I will have soon. So those could be lumped together. Leaving me with 4 out of 11 unaccomplished. That's not quite as bad.

And anyway, this is all a load of crap, in some ways. I know I parsed those goals out at the beginning of the year, but my real goals have been to a) stop being reliant on my parents (have my own job, apartment, etc) b) know where I want to go, and be working on getting there and, c) enjoy my life.

I'd say I'm doing just fine on 2 of those 3, and really, it's all good.

Saturday, December 19, 2009

Today was Practically Guaranteed to be a bad day

It really, really was.

This morning was alright - got almost enough sleep, got myself ready for work, got out the door on time. Seemed like a pretty normal Saturday.

Then, on the way to work, I ran out of gas.

Seriously, it's a 2 mile drive. I was planning on getting gas on the way home from work, just didn't get out the door quite quick enough this morning to stop on the way there.

Not that it would have mattered - I didn't even make it to the gas station. I could almost see it, though.

So, called my Dad and had him drive me the rest of the way to work, then realized I'd forgotten my tea in the car. Which was frustrating, since that was my main source of caffeine and, therefore, hope to stay awake at work all day. (It totally sucks to close one night, and then have to be back at work the next morning.)

At this point, of course, I know it's just going to be a bad day - maybe not dreadful, but bad.

Dad, being the awesome dad he is, goes back to put some gas in my car and see if that's the only problem (I wasn't entirely sure what was wrong, myself). And then one of my coworkers has to run to another store to get drink cups and banana peppers.

He gets stuck behind a car accident, and is gone for about an hour or more, instead of just 20 minutes. Yay.

That actually isn't a problem, though, as it's so slow that the 3 of us who were still there were all doing prep - hardly any customers. And it doesn't ever really pick up for lunch - the 3 of them are up on the line, but I end up doing random other chores around the store, and really, we only needed 2 people. So, of course, they got to go home early. I had to stay, since I was the one scheduled to work the midshift.

Guess when it got busy?

Yeah, about half an hour after they left.

Naturally.

And, of course, since it had been pretty slow, they didn't worry too much about getting the line all stocked up before they left, so not only was I busy, I was running out of things, which is just annoying, really. And I didn't get to stop moving for over an hour - it was just busy enough that every time I finished helping one customer, another one would walk in the door.

That's about the worst kind of busy, because it's juuust busy enough to keep me from doing anything else, but not busy enough to look good as far as the numbers are concerned. And that's all the management usually cares about.

So then, finally, things slow down a bit, and I manage to get things partially caught up, but I know that I'll have to go home early, which means not getting all my hours, and therefore money, I was expecting. Also annoying.

But then comes the really fun part. I get off work, go get my car and fill it up with my Dad, come home, have dinner, relax a little bit, and just start to think about going to bed early, get a good night's rest.

Get a call from work.

The scheduled closer called in, and the person who took the shift has managed to cut his foot so badly he's limping. Can I come in and close?

Why, of course I can. I have to, because none of the other closers are available!

So, that's why I'm writing this post so late at night - I just got home from closing the store, which was incredibly boring, since it was actually pretty slow. I only had I think 4 customers in. 2 of which managed, to my complete surprise, walk on the only part of the floor I had mopped - which involved actually moving the chairs I had blocking that area - and not even realize it. Because, of course, it's not enough that I have to come back in and close when I really need to sleep, I also have to do things twice, because people can't bloody well pay attention!

Of course, I did also have plans for this evening - I still have 2 Christmas presents to knit - one of which isn't even started! - and I was going to work on those all night. Didn't manage to knit a stitch. And, since I had to close tonight, and I still have to work all day tomorrow, I'll probably be too tired to work on them much tomorrow, either.

I'll admit, I've had worse days, but all in all, today rather sucked.

Friday, September 18, 2009

Prioritizing

So I am, apparently, almost incapable of working on one knitting project at a time. Or even of working on the most important project. Part of my sister's birthday present is now going to be her Christmas present - not that I'm actually working on it right now, even though it's on the needles. I have a blanket I'm working on, that I'm actually happy with, and is about 1/3rd of the way finished, but I haven't been working on that, either - partly because it's starting to get too warm to work on, the longer it gets. It'll be a very cozy lap blanket in the winter, but that does make it uncomfortable to work on in warm weather. I picked up yarn for a shrug on impluse, found a pattern I like, and made one sleeve - now it's hibernating until I can block out the sleeve. I have yarn to work on my mom's Christmas presents, my brother-in-law's present, a requested present for my friend's sister, and my grandmother's present - most of these are actually sitting in my knitting bag of 'current' projects, not in my stash.

I also have a list of projects that I need to buy yarn for and work on, if I'm going to get those done for Christmas. I keep telling myself that, really, I can't afford to just go buy yarn right now, especially more expensive yarns, but that's just an excuse. It's true that I shouldn't spend money frivolously right now, but that didn't keep me from buying a new bodice at the Ren Fest, did it? Buying all the yarn I want/need for projects right now probably wouldn't cost any more than that did.

What am I working on? A purse for a friend of mine, who mentioned rather casually that she might like a purse of a certain style, and maybe I could knit her one. I got ideas almost immediately, picked up yarn a couple days later, and then began designing my own pattern and learning how to do double knitting, which I'd wanted to learn anyway, and I think is perfect for the purse. It'll be reversible, and lined, as soon as I'm finished. Also, if she doesn't like it for some reason, I'll totally keep it to use myself. And I'm thinking about doing a variation on it for my sister and myself anyway. Even though I'm only less than 1/3rd of the way into the bag, and I haven't finished figuring out how to do the strap yet.

I am having lots of fun with this pattern, and learning a lot, but it's still not very high up on the list of things I should be working on. And that's just the list of knitting projects, not other things, like, say, filling out job applications!

I really am hopeless at this prioritization thing lately. Because, not only am I focusing on knitting instead of other things, and working on the least important projects first, I also spent most of my morning looking at yet more patterns. I ran across a pattern for a knitted wide-brim lace hat. I can never find hats that fit, and I had been looking for a wide-brim hat last year, so I immediately went "oh, that's so pretty! I wonder if there are other patterns like it! maybe I can find a free one!"

Yep, there went 2 hours.

Really, sometimes I think I need professional help.

And then I tell myself, no, I don't really, I just need to get my ass in gear and get things done, instead of sitting about wasting time.

Take this blog, for example - I've thought of at least a dozen things to post about since last time (in June?! holy crap), but I never actually sat down to write one. Why? I don't know - just lazy, probably. It's not like I've really been that busy.

I really do spend too much time just relaxing. I know I can keep myself moving and just go from one project to the next without pausing - I do that at work all the time - but I somehow lack the motivation to do that at home. Admittedly, I don't enjoy working like that, but neither do I really enjoy living with my parents and working at Subway at 25. I've just got to find a way to get that work ethic and motivation injected into every part of my life, and get used to the idea that I should relax like other people do - on vacation. Not all day every day.

I'll let you know how I do.

Thursday, June 18, 2009

So Pretty!!


Isn't this beautiful? I'm not going to tell you exactly what this is, since it's my sister's birthday present.

(And I know she'll see this, but I couldn't resist sharing.)

I just had to post a pic of this - I'm using Lily's Sugar'n Cream yarn, and the combination of greens and purples is making me feel like I'm creating a field of flowers. I think this is my favorite project yet, and I absolutely love this yarn.

Which is fabulous, because it's pretty inexpensive, too!