Thursday, December 31, 2009

Knitting goals!

So, Okay, I just wrote what turned out to be a rather depressing post on which of my 2009 goals I ended up accomplishing. So now I'm going to do something more fun - Knitting Goals Accomplished! Yay!

1. Bryan's Birthday present
Yeah, that's been done for ages. I know I already mentioned that.

2. finish the scarf, purse, and poncho WIPs
Okay, scrapped the scarf (just used some of the yarn for something else), finished the purse - and the poncho! yay!

3. Hat for my sis
Heh. I'll get around to that eventually...

4. fingerless mitts for myself and a friend
Finished those! Actually, have another pair in the works to give away, and want to make myself another pair.

5. Hooded scarf for mom
Done and gifted - she loves it. Just about finished with a pair of mittens to match

6. house-slippers for my sis
Not yet. Need to rethink this one.

7. afghan for myself
Okay, it's about 1/3 of the way done, has been for ages - all sorts of Christmas knitting got in the way. Hope to get back to it soon.

8. 25 assorted stocking stuffers
Well, I finished off the 7 of those I eventually decided to make. Didn't do the whole family this year.

9. first pair of socks!
Yes! Actually, those need a bit of darning right now, so they're back in my knitting bag. Also, planning on making more!

10. learn fair isle
Well, sort of. I did a swatch which didn't work too well. But I've already started the stocking I needed to learn this for, so we'll see...

So, all in all, I managed most of those. I also learned how to knit lace, and how to do double knitting, and started designing my own project, which I plan to publish on Ravelry when I've finished. And I made several other projects that I wasn't even planning on doing when I made that list originally. Honestly, my knitting goals change pretty quickly, nowadays.

Right now, for example, I have 4 projects that are 'officially' WIPs, and 3 more that are hibernating, which I'm looking forward to getting back to. Also, I have plans to start, for myself, a new pair of socks, a new pair of fingerless gloves, a couple different hats, and at least 2 different sweaters. I also have plans for my brother's B-day present.

Of course, on top of that, I just got several new knitting books for Christmas. One of which I totally wasn't expecting, but which has lots of...unusual patterns in it. So now I'm going through those, and finding yet more projects I'm really interested in making. You know, just in case I'm bored.

I'm starting to think I'm a knitting addict.

I don't think I have a problem with that.

What Happened to those goals?

So, it occurred to me that, at the beginning of this year, I actually did write out a list of 'resolutions' - something I hardly ever do. Since this is the last day of 2009, I figured I should probably go back and see how many of those I accomplished. So here goes.

I want to be in better shape than I have ever been before (whatever that might be, for me).

Totally didn't happen. I did manage to avoid gaining weight, but that's about it. And I've hardly exercised at all. Still planning to work on that.

I want to be working in a job where I plan to stay for a few years, that I enjoy.

Yeah....no. I'm working a crap job that I basically hate, although I get along pretty well with most of my coworkers, and am friends with a couple of them. On the plus side, though, I do have a job lined up to start in February, which I'm really looking forward to - just under a month left of the crap job! yay!

I want to have a place of my own, and start living like an actual adult, instead of a student.

Again, no go. I am looking for a place right now, and I do have a few more of the things I need to set myself up (thanks for those dishes! and the crockpot!). So...progress, at least.

I want to be living in a community I enjoy, and have started sowing seeds for the rest of my life.

Umm....not so much. Still living with my parents, obviously. The sowing seeds thing, though - that's going on all the time, really. Just not the way I thought it was going to.

I want to try to play my cello again, no matter how much it hurts.

Well, I did pull him out and try to get him in tune, but I need to bring my cello in and have him looked over - I think I need to replace the strings, for example. Been planning to do that for months now.

I want to have finished at least one large knitting project, and be ready to start knitting a Christmas stocking for my nephew.

Some success! I haven't actually finished a large project, but I have a couple started, and I have started on the stocking for my nephew! Also, I know what I'm doing for stocking stuffers next year, and it's not going to take nearly as long as this year's projects. So I should have time to knit more for me! (I'm being kinda selfish, I suppose, but I have a whole slew of sweaters and things I want to make for myself.)

I want to have met my friend Jacob, finally.

Nope, didn't happen. Not sure it's going to, either. Really, this is one that I need to think through...

I want to have set some money aside, and start making serious inroads on paying off my student loans.

Well, I have been making payments on my student loans, but I'm living paycheck to paycheck right now - and occasionally asking my dad for a bit of help. So, again, no go on this one. Fortunately I have a better-paying job lined up, so hopefully soon...

I want to be working on several projects that challenge me at my job.

Well, this would require having a challenging job. Which I don't. Will soon, though.

I want to have a plan for the future.

Okay, I'm counting this one as accomplished. I have some ideas for what I want to do with my life, and where I want to go. And that's good enough for me. I don't really want to have any set in stone plans, because then I'll be frustrated if they don't come through.

I want to have written a story, even though I don't think I'll let anyone read it.

Okay... I have written parts of a couple stories, but nothing finished. And they are so not going to be read by anyone, ever.

I want to do something unexpected.

Um. Not sure. I'm thinking probably not. At least nothing big.

I want to be kissed.

Okay, no. And we're leaving it there.

I want to be happy.

Well, yeah. In general, anyway. I'm still dissatisfied with lots of things, but I am relatively happy, anyway.

And I want to be loved.

Wish I hadn't put this on here. Duh.


Okay, so, out of 15 goals, I only accomplished 3 (2 of which were basically given). I partially managed another 4 (depending on how you look at it - my list, my count). Leaving me with 8 I didn't manage. Really, those are pretty sucky numbers.

On the other hand, though - 5 of those 8 were based on, or tied to, having a decent job. Which I will have soon. So those could be lumped together. Leaving me with 4 out of 11 unaccomplished. That's not quite as bad.

And anyway, this is all a load of crap, in some ways. I know I parsed those goals out at the beginning of the year, but my real goals have been to a) stop being reliant on my parents (have my own job, apartment, etc) b) know where I want to go, and be working on getting there and, c) enjoy my life.

I'd say I'm doing just fine on 2 of those 3, and really, it's all good.

Saturday, December 19, 2009

Today was Practically Guaranteed to be a bad day

It really, really was.

This morning was alright - got almost enough sleep, got myself ready for work, got out the door on time. Seemed like a pretty normal Saturday.

Then, on the way to work, I ran out of gas.

Seriously, it's a 2 mile drive. I was planning on getting gas on the way home from work, just didn't get out the door quite quick enough this morning to stop on the way there.

Not that it would have mattered - I didn't even make it to the gas station. I could almost see it, though.

So, called my Dad and had him drive me the rest of the way to work, then realized I'd forgotten my tea in the car. Which was frustrating, since that was my main source of caffeine and, therefore, hope to stay awake at work all day. (It totally sucks to close one night, and then have to be back at work the next morning.)

At this point, of course, I know it's just going to be a bad day - maybe not dreadful, but bad.

Dad, being the awesome dad he is, goes back to put some gas in my car and see if that's the only problem (I wasn't entirely sure what was wrong, myself). And then one of my coworkers has to run to another store to get drink cups and banana peppers.

He gets stuck behind a car accident, and is gone for about an hour or more, instead of just 20 minutes. Yay.

That actually isn't a problem, though, as it's so slow that the 3 of us who were still there were all doing prep - hardly any customers. And it doesn't ever really pick up for lunch - the 3 of them are up on the line, but I end up doing random other chores around the store, and really, we only needed 2 people. So, of course, they got to go home early. I had to stay, since I was the one scheduled to work the midshift.

Guess when it got busy?

Yeah, about half an hour after they left.

Naturally.

And, of course, since it had been pretty slow, they didn't worry too much about getting the line all stocked up before they left, so not only was I busy, I was running out of things, which is just annoying, really. And I didn't get to stop moving for over an hour - it was just busy enough that every time I finished helping one customer, another one would walk in the door.

That's about the worst kind of busy, because it's juuust busy enough to keep me from doing anything else, but not busy enough to look good as far as the numbers are concerned. And that's all the management usually cares about.

So then, finally, things slow down a bit, and I manage to get things partially caught up, but I know that I'll have to go home early, which means not getting all my hours, and therefore money, I was expecting. Also annoying.

But then comes the really fun part. I get off work, go get my car and fill it up with my Dad, come home, have dinner, relax a little bit, and just start to think about going to bed early, get a good night's rest.

Get a call from work.

The scheduled closer called in, and the person who took the shift has managed to cut his foot so badly he's limping. Can I come in and close?

Why, of course I can. I have to, because none of the other closers are available!

So, that's why I'm writing this post so late at night - I just got home from closing the store, which was incredibly boring, since it was actually pretty slow. I only had I think 4 customers in. 2 of which managed, to my complete surprise, walk on the only part of the floor I had mopped - which involved actually moving the chairs I had blocking that area - and not even realize it. Because, of course, it's not enough that I have to come back in and close when I really need to sleep, I also have to do things twice, because people can't bloody well pay attention!

Of course, I did also have plans for this evening - I still have 2 Christmas presents to knit - one of which isn't even started! - and I was going to work on those all night. Didn't manage to knit a stitch. And, since I had to close tonight, and I still have to work all day tomorrow, I'll probably be too tired to work on them much tomorrow, either.

I'll admit, I've had worse days, but all in all, today rather sucked.